Facebook53x53pxFINAL  Twitter53x53pxFINAL



WTA Tennis




USTA/Midwest Section Announces 2007 Spring Award Winners

March 22, 2007 02:39 PM

USTA Midwest logo

Indianapolis, In. --- The USTA/Midwest Section will present several awards at an awards luncheon on Saturday, April 28. The luncheon is being conducted during the USTA/Midwest Section Annual Spring Meeting at the University Place Conference Center & Hotel at IUPUI in downtown Indianapolis. The following awards will recognize dedicated volunteers and individuals throughout the USTA/Midwest Section.

Stanley Malless Volunteer Award: Pam Hammond, Fond du Lac, Wi.

Cap Leighton Teaching Pro Award: Chris Michalowski, Acme, Mi.

Frank Dowling Officials Award: Joyce Tessiatore, Arbor Vitae, Wi.

Fred Burns Journalism Award: Scott Cooper, Bargersville, In.

Wallace R. Holzman Sportsmanship Award: Evan King, Chicago, Il.

Helen Shockley Sportsmanship Award: Shannon Mathews, Birmingham, Mi.

Member Organization of the Year: Cleveland Racquet Club, Pepper Pike, Oh.

Community Tennis Association of the Year: Oconomowoc Community Tennis Association, Oconomowoc, Wi.

The Indianapolis-based USTA/Midwest Section exceeds 78,000 individual members and nearly 1,000 member organizations. It is the second largest section of the United States Tennis Association, the National Governing Body for tennis in the U.S. The USTA/Midwest Section is composed of 14 districts in the following states: Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Ohio, and Wisconsin, as well as several counties in West Virginia and Kentucky. The USTA/Midwest Section offers recreational and competitive tennis for individuals of all ages and abilities. For more information, visit the USTA/Midwest Section at www.midwest.usta.com.

Contact: Kathy Dalla Costa at 317-577-5130, ext. 224 or kathy@midwest.usta.com