Facebook53x53pxFINAL  Twitter53x53pxFINAL



WTA Tennis




USTA Campus Championship-Midwest recap by Steve Wise

March 16, 2009 01:12 AM

Again we had a successful Campus Championship with 28 teams representing 24 schools in the Midwest! Special thanks to our sponsors for making this happen: BP, who graciously donated $100 gas cards to all the teams! K-3 Tennis, who is our Midwest Tennis On Campus league sponsor, has donated well over 40 cases of balls this year to the teams including the balls for the tournament. They have been a big help. Thanks to Rocky Rococo’s Pizza who helped us out with a discount on the 50 Pizzas and soft drinks for Saturday. We also thank TennisWearhouse.com for the donation of tennis prizes that we raffled off during the event.

2009 USTA Campus Championship-Midwest Highlights:
Finals: Wisconsin A defeated Michigan A 27-25 in OT
3rd Place: Michigan B defeated Northwestern 26-25, 7-3 in SuperTiebreaker!
5th place: Ohio State defeated Purdue Univ. 24-17 in the consolation draw finals.

National Championship bids go to: Wisconsin A, Michigan A, Northwestern, and Ohio State.

Michigan A and B were in the semi finals so the consolation winner in the bracket play, or 5th place, gets the bid to the national championship.

Marquette lost to Wisconsin A 23-24 in a ST in the quarterfinals. Great match!

Michigan State A almost made the semi-finals and lost to Michigan B by 1 point in a Supertiebreaker. Probably the best the match of the tournament! Michigan State A has proven to be a very solid team this tournament.

University of Cincinnati was new to the tournament this year and made it into bracket play, they are a great team. Many of their matches went into OT and they simply fell short. They are also the winners of the sportsmanship award! (voted by the other teams). Northern Illinois University won second place in the sportsmanship award category.

Loyola split their team into an A and B team a day before the tournament to accommodate a team that dropped out. Loyola’s A team actually made it into the bracket play as a wild card with a very high winning percentage in their pool play.

Thanks to all the new teams who overcame many obstacles to make it to the event: Lorain County Community College, Oakland University, University of Cincinnati, Northern Illinois University, Southern Illinois University, and the University of Dayton,

After pool play, 14 teams in the 7 pools (1st and 2nd place) go into the Main draw bracket. Two third place teams earn a wild card bid based on their winning percentage.

Main draw- First round:
Wisconsin A defeated Ferris State U 30-6
Marquette def. Purdue 23-19
Northwestern def. Ohio University 26-22
Illinois def. Cincinnati 24-21
Michigan A def. Eastern Michigan 24-20
Wisconsin B def. Indiana 26-16
Michigan B def. Ohio State 30-10
Michigan State A def. Loyola A 30-13

Wisconsin A def. Marquette 24-23
Northwestern def. Illinois 23-20
Michigan A def. Wisconsin B 28-18
Michigan B def. Michigan State A 27-26

Wisconsin A def. Northwestern 29-18
Michigan A def. Michigan B 27-16

Third place bracket:
Michigan B def. Northwestern 26-25

Consolation draw:
Purdue def. Ferris State 26-16
Ohio University def. Cincinnati 24-23
Eastern Michigan won by default over Indiana.
Ohio State def. Loyola A 25-17

Purdue def. Ohio University 24-15
Ohio State won by default over Eastern Michigan

Ohio State def. Purdue 24-17

The following 11 teams will represent the USTA/Midwest Section and their respective Universities in the 2009 USTA Campus Championship in Surprise, AZ next month:

University of Wisconsin, University of Michigan, Northwestern University, Ohio State University, Northern Illinois University, Ferris State University, Michigan State University, UW-Milwaukee, Loyola University, Marquette University, and UW-Whitewater.

Wisconsin A 1st

Michigan A 2nd Place

Mixed playing for 1st!

Tennis on Campus Midwest Championships Picture