Facebook53x53pxFINAL  Twitter53x53pxFINAL



WTA Tennis




WTA Announces 2009 Award Winners.

January 7, 2010 12:57 PM
WTA Announces 2009 Award Winners
The Wisconsin Tennis Association Awards Committee announced the recipients of the 2009 WTA Awards winners at their annual meeting and banquet held on November 8 at Western Racquet Club in Elm Grove.

Nelson Vick was the recipient of the Frank Parker Junior Boy Award in recognition of his accomplishments both on and off the tennis court. In the USTA Midwest Section 2008 rankings, Nelson was ranked 6th in singles and 1st in doubles. His USTA National ranking was 49th in singles and 28th in doubles. Nelson played on the Marquette University High School Team winning the 2007 WIAA Division I State singles title in 2007 and finishing as runner up in 2008 and 2009. Nelson plans to attend Ohio State University in March.

Elizabeth (Aiyi) Ecker was the recipient of the Frank Parker Junior Girl Award. Aiyi has been ranked nationally by the USTA since age 14 and as high as #35. She has been a member of the Wisconsin Junior Cup Teams and has been awarded the honor of National High Scholl Tennis All-American. Currently an honors student at University School of Milwaukee, Aiyi will attend Stanford University in fall 2010.

The Frank Parker Award is the most prestigious award a junior player can receive in Wisconsin. It recognizes excellence in junior tennis and is awarded annually to one boy and one girl at or near the end of their junior tennis career. Each recipient receives the award and trophy along with a biography by Cindy Beardsley of the great Frank Parker.

The Oconomowoc Community Tennis Association received the prestigious Wisconsin Tennis Association Member Organization of the Year Award for 2009. This award acknowledges outstanding service by clubs or organizations to their members and represents a standard to which all member organizations can strive.

Rick Vetter was the recipient of the Rollie Mueller President’s Award. This award was established to recognize commitment to excellence in the development, supervision or administration of a program or activity that motivates and serves the interests of tennis and tennis players.

Rick has been a driving force in every aspect of tennis and tennis programming for youth and adults in the Wisconsin District including:
• USTA Schools Clinician since 1987
• USTA National Recreational Coaches Workshop Trainer
• USTA National Quickstart Trainer
• International Clinician
• Tournament Director for the Wisconsin Closed and Junior Opens for 25 years
• Volunteer Assistant Varsity Coach at Homestead High School
• Wisconsin Tennis Association Board of Directors 1978-1989
• Tournament Director-Milwaukee Tennis Classic, Women for MACC, Tennis for Tim Gullikson
• Wisconsin Junior Davis Cup Team Coach

Elizabeth Barnhill was the recipient of the prestigious Bill Letwin Award. Established in 1967 by the Town Club when it was the site of the National Clay Court Tournament, the award is represented with a distinguished silver bowl. It is named for Bill Letwin, a Milwaukee Journal sportswriter who covered tennis in Milwaukee for more than 40 years. The award recognizes “achievement, dedication or service, past or present, by a Wisconsin tennis player, coach, professional, WTA officer or tournament official.”

The WTA Award is presented in recognition of tennis volunteering and in appreciation of dedicated service to tennis in Wisconsin and to the Wisconsin Tennis Association.

The WTA Award was renamed the Dick Arnold WTA Award in tribute and everlasting gratitude to Dick, who passed away this year. Dick dedicated 45 years of service to tennis, the Wisconsin District, USTA Midwest Section and USTA National. The award was posthumously presented to Dick and accepted by his wife Audrey and their children.

Lois Darkow and Jack Shepich were the recipients of The USTA League Player of the Year Awards.The League player award honors players, captains and those individuals who help grow the league program or tournament program for Wisconsin Tennis. In addition to participation and sportsmanship, this award recognizes volunteerism in USTA Adult Leagues and Tournaments.